Postal Code | ZIP Code ✉️ Postal Code | ZIP Code ✉️

South Africa 🇿🇦

This is the South Africa Post Code page. This page includes the following content: Code Method, Envelope Example and Address Format, the way of writing the postal code correctly, reference link for postcode inquiries.

South Africa.jpg

Envelope Example

South Africa Envelope.jpg

Coding Method

Postal codes were introduced in South Africa in 1975, with the introduction of automated sorting. The postal codes in South African consist of four digits. Mail may be delivered either to the physical address or to a PO Box, particularly in rural areas where no street delivery is available. In addition, many large organisations may use a Private Bag address, with mail dispatched to the holder by a mail contractor. In the case of cities and large towns, however, the last two digits of the postal code indicate the mode of delivery. For example in Port Elizabeth the postal code 6001 indicates a street address and 6000 indicates a PO Box or Private Bag address.

43 Russel Road                 PO Box 128
Port Elizabeth                 Port Elizabeth
6001                           6000

A feature of South African postal addresses, also common to Australia, is that it is only necessary to include the suburb, not the city, for example, in the case of Yeoville in Johannesburg:

47 Rockey Street

The postal code should be placed on a new line or in front of the suburb/town. The following format is also acceptable:

47 Rockey Street

Address Format

Mr J Nel
10 Church Street

Range of Postal Codes by Area

Postal Code Range Area
Northern Region (Gauteng, Mpumalanga, most of North West, Limpopo)
0001-0299 Tshwane
0300-0499 North West - northern part
0500-0698 Limpopo - south and west
0699-0999 Limpopo - north and east
1000-1399 Mpumalanga - Northern half
1400-1699 Gauteng - East Rand / Ekurhuleni Metro
1700-1799 Gauteng - West Rand - Mogale City/Krugersdorp, Roodepoort (now part of Johannesburg)
1800-1999 Gauteng - Soweto and Vereeniging/Vanderbijlpark Region (Motsweding)
2000-2199 Gauteng - Johannesburg (original Johannesburg, Randburg, Sandton)
2200-2499 Mpumalanga - southern half
2500-2899 Northwest Province - southern and central
Eastern Region (Kwa Zulu Natal, eastern part of Eastern Cape)
2900-3199 KwaZulu Natal - Northern Kwa Zulu Natal
3200-3299 KwaZulu Natal - Pietermaritzburg and surrounds
3300-3599 KwaZulu Natal - Midlands
3600-3799 KwaZulu Natal - Region between Durban and Pietermaritzburg, including satellite towns,such as Westville.
3800-3999 KwaZulu Natal - Zululand Region (including Richards Bay )
4000-4099 KwaZulu Natal - Durban / Ethekwini (original area)
4100-4299 KwaZulu Natal - South Coast
4300-4499 KwaZulu Natal - North Coast
4500-4730 KwaZulu Natal - Griqualand East and Umzinkulu
Southern Region (Eastern Cape, eastern parts of Wetsern Cape)
4731-5199 Eastern Cape - Former Transkei
5200-5299 Eastern Cape - East London
5300-5499 Eastern Cape - historical 'Border' region
5500-5999 Eastern Cape - Northern part
Western Region (Western Cape (Cape Town and West Coast), Northern Cape)
6000-6099 Eastern Cape - Port Elizabeth
6100-6499 Eastern Cape - Western part
6500-6699 Western Cape - Garden Route and Oudtshoorn area
6700-6899 Western Cape - Klein Karoo
6900-7099 Western Cape - Groot Karoo
7100-7299 Western Cape - Area south-east of Cape Town
7300-7399 Western Cape - West Coast
7400-7599 Western Cape - Northern parts of Cape Metropole
7600-7699 Western Cape - Areas East of Cape Town,such as Stellenbosch
7700-8099 Western Cape - Cape Town and Cape Peninsula
8100-8299 Northern Cape - Namaqualand Region
Central Region (Northern Cape and Free State)
8300-8799 Northern Cape - Eastern Part
8800-8999 Northern Cape - Gordonia Region
9300-9399 Free State - Bloemfontein and surrounds
9400-9699 Free State - Northern Free State
9700-9899 Free State - Eastern Free State
9900-9999 Free State - Southern Free State

Reference Links

External Links

Main Page | 📱 Mobile | Computer 💻
📧 [email protected]

1998-2024 v2.2 a-d-e-2